cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STMF4 External interrupt → DMA 20-bit SPI xfer → completion interrupt to ISR

Background, using STM32F412CG:

- we have an external 20-bit ADC triggered by an external conversion strobe

- the ADC produces a signal when conversion is complete

- external ADC-complete signal must trigger DMA to read the ADC results (20-bit over SPI)

- DMA-completion of SPI xfer must trigger a transfer-complete interrupt (enter ISR after data received&ready)

I’ve done this with several other vendors’ parts but I’m a newbie to the STM family, so a few questions:

1. I read application note AN4031 on DMA controller use, but I don’t see from this note how DMA can be triggered from an external pin? Any recommended example?
  2. How does the 16-bit SPI do a 20-bit transfer using DMA, and trigger an interrupt on completion? (SPI transfers >16-bit are very common so this must be possible)? Recommended examples?

Thanks in advance for any pointers,

Best Regards, Dave

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

OK, I got this to work as follows (thanks again for the pointers @Community member​ @Bob S​ !):

1. DMA for SPI TX (DMA1 stream 4) setup for 3 one-byte transfers for the outbound SPI data, triggered by SPI’s TX data empty, but not yet enabled.
  2. DMA for SPI RX (DMA1 stream 3) setup for 3 one-byte transfers, triggered by SPI RX data available, with the DMA transfer-complete interrupt enabled, and DMA enabled.
  3. DMA for TIMx_CC3 (DMA2 stream 6) set to transfer a 32-bit word to the DMA stream controlling SPI TX (so that TIMx_CC3 will effectively enable SPI transmit of 3 bytes), and DMA enabled.
  4. The externally-generated ADC conversion strobe CNV is connected to and triggers:
  • external ADC’s conversion strobe input
    • TIMx_ETR input, timer in slave trigger mode (on ETR) and One-Time-Pulse mode.