cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STMF4 External interrupt → DMA 20-bit SPI xfer → completion interrupt to ISR

Background, using STM32F412CG:

- we have an external 20-bit ADC triggered by an external conversion strobe

- the ADC produces a signal when conversion is complete

- external ADC-complete signal must trigger DMA to read the ADC results (20-bit over SPI)

- DMA-completion of SPI xfer must trigger a transfer-complete interrupt (enter ISR after data received&ready)

I’ve done this with several other vendors’ parts but I’m a newbie to the STM family, so a few questions:

1. I read application note AN4031 on DMA controller use, but I don’t see from this note how DMA can be triggered from an external pin? Any recommended example?
  2. How does the 16-bit SPI do a 20-bit transfer using DMA, and trigger an interrupt on completion? (SPI transfers >16-bit are very common so this must be possible)? Recommended examples?

Thanks in advance for any pointers,

Best Regards, Dave

19 REPLIES 19
Bob S
Principal

> An 100MHz CPU isn't very useful while it's sitting inside ISR in a loop waiting

> for SPI or bit-banging CS lines!

1 instruction to assert the chip select line (OK, maybe 2 or 3 assembler instructions). A couple more instructions to manually start the DMA/SPI transfer. No "sitting inside the ISR" waiting for anything. The DMA transfer complete interrupt can count the number of transfers, set up the next DMA xfer (if required) set the "I got a bunch of data" flag. Again, no "sitting" and not a lot of instructions.