cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Extraction of bin file from microcontroller

BTay.1
Associate II

Hey, sorry, I am pretty new to this. I have a rather basic question. I took apart a module that I have, within which there is STM32 microcontroller (part marking: STM32F103T8U77BA7E93PHL739). I want to know if it's possible to use the IDE to extract the existing bin file in the microcontroller, via JTAG or some other method? Reason being I have my own bin file that I'd like to test, but in case I screw things up, I'd like to be able to restore the module back to its original condition by reinstating the original bin file into the microcontroller. So my plan is to extract the current contents of the microcontroller by reading back, store the bin file safely before i do any kind of experimentation so that at least the original condition can be restored. Hope my question is clear.

30 REPLIES 30

It's a QFN36 with a longer soldering traces. It has sharp corners like QFN parts, not rounded ones like LQFP. And even in that blurry image it can be seen that all four VSSx/VSSA pins of a QFN36 package are connected to the larger GND plane.

BTay.1
Associate II

Thank you for the responses!