cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Extraction of bin file from microcontroller

BTay.1
Associate II

Hey, sorry, I am pretty new to this. I have a rather basic question. I took apart a module that I have, within which there is STM32 microcontroller (part marking: STM32F103T8U77BA7E93PHL739). I want to know if it's possible to use the IDE to extract the existing bin file in the microcontroller, via JTAG or some other method? Reason being I have my own bin file that I'd like to test, but in case I screw things up, I'd like to be able to restore the module back to its original condition by reinstating the original bin file into the microcontroller. So my plan is to extract the current contents of the microcontroller by reading back, store the bin file safely before i do any kind of experimentation so that at least the original condition can be restored. Hope my question is clear.

30 REPLIES 30

@BTay.1​  "It is a task given to me by my boss"

And you're getting him to help you with this, and/or getting (an) experienced colleague(s) to help?

"a header on the PCB, for which I don't know which pins are TCK,TMS,TDO,TDI"

ARM defines some standards for this - is it a standard header?

https://developer.arm.com/documentation/ka001776/latest

As @Community member​ said, most STM32 use SWD - which is just 2 lines (or, preferably, 3 - to include Reset).

"part marking: STM32F103T8U77BA7E93PHL739"

That's plenty of information to be able to identify it sufficiently for this purpose:

https://www.st.com/en/microcontrollers-microprocessors/stm32f103t8.html

BTay.1
Associate II