cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Extraction of bin file from microcontroller

BTay.1
Associate II

Hey, sorry, I am pretty new to this. I have a rather basic question. I took apart a module that I have, within which there is STM32 microcontroller (part marking: STM32F103T8U77BA7E93PHL739). I want to know if it's possible to use the IDE to extract the existing bin file in the microcontroller, via JTAG or some other method? Reason being I have my own bin file that I'd like to test, but in case I screw things up, I'd like to be able to restore the module back to its original condition by reinstating the original bin file into the microcontroller. So my plan is to extract the current contents of the microcontroller by reading back, store the bin file safely before i do any kind of experimentation so that at least the original condition can be restored. Hope my question is clear.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Mike_ST
ST Employee

Hello please use STM32CubeProgrammer:

0693W00000NrG76QAF.jpg

View solution in original post

30 REPLIES 30

STM32 Cube Programmer should be able to Read and Save the memory content provided that the device isn't protected to prevent that.​

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
Andrew Neil
Evangelist III

@BTay.1​ "I am pretty new to this"

To what, exactly?

Mike_ST
ST Employee

Hello please use STM32CubeProgrammer:

0693W00000NrG76QAF.jpg

BTay.1
Associate II