cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Keil vs STM ide

NSemrHomeInit
Senior

Dear ST Hello,

What is the advantage and disadvantage of the Keil and STM ide.

Did you recommend one of them. I want to change the ide and I am in 2 minds,

Thank you in advance,

S.Tarik

34 REPLIES 34
DWebb.2
Associate

I have been using CubeIDE for a couple of years and have really come to like it. Originally I had used VisualStudio as my main IDE so the learning curve was fairly steep (mainly on the Eclipse specific quirks).

However if you put the time in to really understand it is an incredibly powerful tool. The debugging capabilities are superb - in addition to the usual stuff like setting breakpoints and running code line by line you can really get into some advanced stuff. Eg:

• Read/write access to both core and peripheral registers
  • Memory browser
  • Easily switch between C/C++ and Assembly
  • Direct access into GDB from the debugger console
  • A build analyser allowing you to drill right into memory usage and flash storage
  • A fault analyzer

... and given I keep discovering new stuff all the time there's probably a load more.

I'm not mad on the workspace/perspective thing that Eclipse does, but once you get your head around it , it is logical enough.

All in all it is a fantastic tool and STM have done an incredible job to produce such a great tool (and the price is pretty good too!).

Dom

gregstm
Senior III

I like the Keil interface, it is elegant and robust. One of my computers is an old Windows XP and I can still use it for occasional development work (an old version of Keil of course). But I HATE the astronomical cost if you want to exceed 32K... Even if you can afford the price, your software is then tied up with various annoying license restraints... I mainly use the STM32L4 range, and thankfully I have managed to keep my designs less than 32K - so far...