cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

F401C barebone, minimum circuit.

Manny12
Associate III

Hi

I'm new to STM32, I'm jumping from Arduino, and I'm out of my depth, perhaps I can humbly ask for some help.

I've done basic projects with the Nucleo board, and I wanted to give a try with a simple code on a barebone chip

I have this STM32F401CBU6 on UFQFPN-48, mounted on a Proto-Advantage SMT to Breadboard adapter, naked, just the MCU, no decoupling capacitors, pull-down resistors, etc., just naked.

I intend to put it on my breadboard, power it with a 3.3V Power Supply, and program it to blink a LED.

The code will be written with the CubeIDE and loaded via a Nucleo 64 reference board UM1724, which has an integrated STLink that according to the documentation, can be decoupled for the onboard STM32 target (by removing some header pins) and then used to program an external STM32 via SWD

Chapter 3.13 of the IC F401xB datasheet (that is the external MCU I'm using) talks about the power scheme, and I was wondering:

To just power on the MCU and receive SDW program, do I need to provide power to all VDDs or just VBAT?

What would be the bare minimum circuit that would let me read/write registers, load firmware, etc?

I know, out of my depth, but perhaps I can find my way in this maze.

17 REPLIES 17
Manny12
Associate III

Forgot to say, I can power this with the 3.3V output from a Nucleo 64 board, or from a buck converter I have.

The buck converter is model DPS5005 fed by a 14.4V Li-ion 4S pack I made myself. Definitely not lab-grade, but perhaps enough.

These are the specs of the DPS5005:

---------

Input voltage: 6-55V

Output voltage: 0V-50.00V

Output current: 0-5.000A

Output power: 0-250W

Output voltage resolution: 0.01V

Output current resolution: 0.001A

Output Voltage accuracy: +/- (0.5% + 1 digit)

Output Current accuracy: +/- (0.5% + 2 digits)

gbm
Lead III

Put a 4-pin connector for programming/debug: Vdd, SWDIO, SWCLK and GND.