cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Simulate a quadrature encoder on STM32F446RE

Swyftfeet
Associate

Noob here.  Using HAL and as much generated code as possible.   Ive run into an issue on how to self learn,  I've identified what I believe is the solution but nowhere( that I can figure out) in the reference document does it point to this in what I believe would be obviously described.

I have a situation where I am in need of using an MCU to simulate a quadrature encoder and some other inputs to a larger system for testing.  

The encoder goes from rest to 132kHz and back to rest 13 times a second. 

My first attempt was to use PWM/DMA and phase shifting but it kinda fell apart on me maintaining the phase shifts. 

I watched some videos and it occured to me that I could DMA a cyclic buffer through the GPIO without trying to maintain phase shift by writing directly to the GPIO: 

uint32_t enc_cycle[4];

for(int i=0; i<4 ;i++)

enc_cycle[i]=0;

enc_cycle[0] = 0x00000001;

enc_cycle[1] = 0x00000002;

enc_cycle[2] = 0x00010000;

enc_cycle[3] = 0x00020000;

HAL_DMA_Start(&hdma_tim1_up, (uint32_t)enc_cycle, (uint32_t)&(GPIOC->BSRR), 4);

HAL_TIM_Base_Start(&htim1);

HAL_TIM_OC_Start(&htim1, TIM_CHANNEL_1);

TIM1->DIER |= (1<<8);

After setting up the clock and Tim1 this works ok .  Using CubeMX and and DMA settings for circular word size buffer and TIM1_UP or TIM1_OC.  I get what I want from that timer as far as the 90deg phase shifted output.  Great!  

Changing the the 1's to 8's where applicable, it also works for Tim8 after going through the DMA setup in CubeMX.  Woot!

It does not work for any of the other timers in the same way.   GPIO stays dead when I follow the same setups on timers other than 1 or 8.   I dont know what key words I am missing.

Q1. My main question is how using the documentation would this be obvious?