cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Confusion about ADC sampling speed and sampled value

rakib2023
Associate III

Hello.

I am very new in using STM32. I am using STM32H747I-DISCO board. For my project, I only need one ADC in differential mode. Previously, I tried to use DMA with ADC but it never worked, even the "ADC dual mode interleaved" example provided by st didn't work. So, I started to fiddle with "PollForConversion" and interrupt methods. Now, from CubeIDE, i have the following clock setup,

CPU1 - 480 MHz, CPU2 - 240 MHz, APB1 and APB2 timer clocks - 240 MHz, ADC - 21 MHz

Only have channel 1 set to differential mode for ADC1 and Timer 2 in free running (1 MHz) to measure timings.

Here's the timer initialize,

static void MX_TIM2_Init(void)
{
  TIM_ClockConfigTypeDef sClockSourceConfig = {0};
  TIM_MasterConfigTypeDef sMasterConfig = {0};

htim2.Instance = TIM2;
  htim2.Init.Prescaler = 240;
  htim2.Init.CounterMode = TIM_COUNTERMODE_UP;
  htim2.Init.Period = 4294967295;
  htim2.Init.ClockDivision = TIM_CLOCKDIVISION_DIV1;
  htim2.Init.AutoReloadPreload = TIM_AUTORELOAD_PRELOAD_DISABLE;
  if (HAL_TIM_Base_Init(&htim2) != HAL_OK)
  {
    Error_Handler();
  }
  sClockSourceConfig.ClockSource = TIM_CLOCKSOURCE_INTERNAL;
  if (HAL_TIM_ConfigClockSource(&htim2, &sClockSourceConfig) != HAL_OK)
  {
    Error_Handler();
  }
  sMasterConfig.MasterOutputTrigger = TIM_TRGO_RESET;
  sMasterConfig.MasterSlaveMode = TIM_MASTERSLAVEMODE_DISABLE;
  if (HAL_TIMEx_MasterConfigSynchronization(&htim2, &sMasterConfig) != HAL_OK)
  {
    Error_Handler();
  }
}

Here's the ADC initialize,

static void MX_ADC1_Init(void)
{
  ADC_MultiModeTypeDef multimode = {0};
  ADC_ChannelConfTypeDef sConfig = {0};

/** Common config
  */
  hadc1.Instance = ADC1;
  hadc1.Init.ClockPrescaler = ADC_CLOCK_ASYNC_DIV1;
  hadc1.Init.Resolution = ADC_RESOLUTION_12B;
  hadc1.Init.ScanConvMode = ADC_SCAN_DISABLE;
  hadc1.Init.EOCSelection = ADC_EOC_SINGLE_CONV;