cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STemWin or TouchGFX for STM32 graphics?

JSilv.3
Associate II

I'm first working with GUIs and have some experience on bare-metal firmware programming for STM32 on SW4STM32. I'm studying both ways for GUI (TouchGFX and STemWin), but I can't understand all the pros and cons. Should I use TouchGFX for new projects? It seems to be the future for STM32 graphics. The emWin GUIBilder is verystuck when running from STM32CubeMX 5. My project is a treadmill touch display controller and I need to integrate graphics UI with embedded controller firmware. Thanks a lot for the support! 🙂

8 REPLIES 8
Mon2
Senior III

My 2 bits...

a) What is your target board you will use for this research? Guessing that it is a commercial venture? If yes, review the displays based on resolution, other factors including back light intensity, viewing angles, touch panel (resistive vs. capacitive), interface - parallel vs. DSI. Budget for the end hardware?

b) Have not used STemWin so cannot comment other than a quick read which we thought was a restrictive license but free to get started. May be wrong here. TouchGFX used to be a 3,000 Euro toolchain but the company (Draupner) was purchased by ST and now is a free toolchain. TouchGFX is amazingly powerful. For our company, we were seeking some rapid tools for quick font use. Can do this in seconds and view the results. While TouchGFX is not perfect - no tool ever is - this solution is now tamed with the assorted documentation posted in this forum.

You can quickly perform your trials on the STM32F429i-DISC1 tool with SW4STM32 + TouchGFX 4.10 + CubeMX 5.0. The same now with STM32F746G-DISCOVERY kit.

Post back in the forum if you get stuck but the hard part for the above targets is resolved by assorted users over the past month or two.