cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unknown chip id! 0x421

Odega
Associate

Hello, so I am completely new to working with STM boards in general. 

I just got a brand new stm32f446re board, and I tried to upload some code to it through Linux. And I do mean brand new, I haven't uploaded or downloaded any code to it before this attempt. However, when I attempted to do so, I got an error message:

"WARN common.c: unknown chip id! 0x421"

So, I looked around for a bit and tried a simple command: st-info --probe to see some internal stuff on it. But I was told this:

"No such file or directory

version:V2J33S25

serial: 066DFF534871754867255336

flash: 0 (pagesize: 0)

sram: 0

chipid: 0x421"

After spending roughly about two weeks trying to find stuff online, I couldn't figure out anything on what to do. So, I am very much open to suggestions if anybody knows anything about this error.

Thank you very much in advance for any help.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

@Andrew Neil wrote:

@waclawek.jan wrote:

I maintain that those utilities are of an obsolete version and/or incorrectly installed.

Plausible - and that was also @Tesla DeLorean's feeling, I think.

https://github.com/stlink-org/stlink/issues/1241#issuecomment-1366964332

As already noted, it's a 3rd-party project - so you need to take issues up with them.

View solution in original post

25 REPLIES 25
Andrew Neil
Evangelist III

@Odega wrote:

I am completely new to working with STM boards in general. .

Do you have experience with any other microcontroller(s)? With programming in general? Electronics?

@Odega wrote:

I just got a brand new stm32f446re board

What board, exactly - ST? 3rd-party? custom?

What, exactly, are you using to do the downloading?

https://community.st.com/t5/community-guidelines/how-to-write-your-question-to-maximize-your-chances-to-find-a/ta-p/575228

SofLit
ST Employee

Hello @Odega  and welcome to the community,

@Odega wrote: