cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

"Listening" the data received by RX pin on STM32L073RZ

CAben.1
Associate II

Dear ST Community,

I am new to STM32 and I am currently trying to develop a remote control with SMT32L073RZ and Thyone I (Nordic-Based) RF Proprietary module which acts as transreceiver. the communication is through UART.

Setup1:

Transmitter: Thyone I RF Module hooked to Nucleo L073RZ (UART1) Thyone I USB Dongle with the use of a Terminal Program

Receiver: Thyone I USB Dongle with the use of a Terminal Program.

Here i was able to transmit and visualise data on the Terminal. No problems here!!!

Setup2:

Transmitter: Thyone I USB Dongle with the use of a Terminal Program

Receiver: Thyone I RF Module hooked to Nucleo L073RZ (UART1)

In this setup, I know for a fact that the RF module receives the transmited data from the Dongle because of the blinking RX LED, but unfortunately, i can use/access this data.

Question: How can I listen to my received data on the RX pin and save it in an array or string? For any further questions please, do not hesitate to ask. Thank you

3 REPLIES 3
KnarfB
Principal III

Hi,

its not clear to me how you connected everything, i.e. in Setup1 if you're using an USB dongle, what did the Nucleo board then do (HW + SW)?

Just for testing, you can write a busy loop for the Nucleo board copying all chars from one UART to another connected to the USB VCP to the PC. So the Nucleo board acts as a serial-USB dongle on steroids. This is easiest done at register level:

while (1)
  {
    if( USART1->ISR & USART_ISR_RXNE ) { // UART1 has a char
      char c = USART1->RDR & 0xFF;
      while( (USART2->ISR & USART_ISR_TXE) == 0 );
        USART2->TDR = c; // copy it to UART2
    }
    if( USART2->ISR & USART_ISR_RXNE ) { // UART2 has a char
      char c = USART2->RDR & 0xFF;
      while( (USART1->ISR & USART_ISR_TXE) == 0 );
        USART1->TDR = c; // copy it to UART1
    }
  }