cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NUCLEO-U575ZI DAC optimal sampling rate for 40hz sine generation?

Skfir
Senior

Hello everybody! Sorry, I am a pianist and know very little about engineering, so I most probably will use a naïve terminology, please bear with me.

The thing is I use built-in 12-bit DAC in order to generate a simple sine wave. The frequency is a bout 40hz. Now, from what little I know, it seems that both the bit depth and sampling rate determine how large "gaps" between two adjacent values of the resulting sine will be. The larger the bit depth, the smaller the gap (smoother wave), the greater sampling rate - also the smoother wave. So both, the bit depth and sampling rate determine the smoothness of the resulting wave. My question is, while I cannot adjust the bit depth (let's not mention dithering at this point), I definitely can vary sampling rate. What would be the optimal oversampling ratio for generating a smooth 40hz sine? Could someone please explain the concept in a nut-shell, if possible?

Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
AScha.3
Chief II

hi,

the general question for "generating a smooth 40hz sine" is : what is "smooth" ? see wave on a scope, or hear it on a good ...speaker ? to have a nice pic on a scope, maybe 100 dots -> lines giving a good image , you need 40hz * 100 = 4000 sampels/sec .

but if listen to it and want best quality, you need a sampling rate, that not generates side effect you can hear; so without a extra low pass filter, sampling rate > 16kHz is needed.

so lets say, for audio with good quality you should use a sampling rate of 20 kHz , if only low frequency should be produced.

to play this just by reading from a table (int16 array) you can pre-calculate the sine table (20k / 40) with 500 values and give at 20khz rate to the dac.

If you feel a post has answered your question, please click "Accept as Solution".

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
AScha.3