cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to write on memory and keep it when my card is off power

Vince18092001
Associate II

Hi everyone ! 

I am new to the ST Community, so please forgive me in advance if my request lacks clarity or information. I am facing an issue: I want to store a data in my memory that will be updated approximately every second or a bit more, that will be determined later. To achieve this, I am using the following function:

void WriteDataToFlash(uint32_t data) {

HAL_FLASH_Unlock();

FLASH_Erase_Sector(FLASH_SECTOR_7, VOLTAGE_RANGE_3);

HAL_FLASH_Program(FLASH_TYPEPROGRAM_WORD, FLASH_USER_START_ADDR, data);

HAL_FLASH_Lock();
}

It works very well, my values change as I want them to. However, the problem I am encountering is that when I turn off my board and turn it back on, or even when I debug it, my memory seems to reset, even though I don't have a function that would cause my memory to reset. I believe there's something I'm missing, and since I'm new to working with memories, I'm having trouble identifying my mistake. Just to let you know, I am coding on an STM32F439VIT6 used on hardware other than Nucleo.

Thank you in advance to those who take the time to read.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Pavel A.
Evangelist III

Hi @Vince18092001  Assuming that FLASH_USER_START_ADDR is correct (within FLASH_SECTOR_7) and the erase and write are successful - a likely reason is that sector erase is a lengthy action (much longer than write) so if you remove power at random times, it is very probable that power drops in the middle of erase. So the following write does not occur.  Does this seem reasonable?

If yes - can you think of the following points?

- How you can avoid erasing the flash sector before every read? Why you want to do so (besides of saving time) ?

- How to avoid switching the power off at unfortunate moments? If this cannot be avoided, how to keep at least the previous data?