cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

An absolute beginner needs help programming peripheral devices with the STM32Cube

Mick P. F.
Senior

Hello ,

I'm using the latest STM32Cube with NUCLEO144-H743ZI2 board.

I am a complete beginner with using the STM32 and STM32Cube. I came from the ESP32 world, where everything was relatively easy. Through numerous attempts, I can now handle the STM32Cube (especially the STM32CubeMX), even if some terms that appear there are still unknown to me.

At the beginning I set the goal to get the TSL2591 sensor running. Communication with this component takes place via the I2C bus (I2C1).

In the STM32CubeMX I have specified that the pins PB8 and PB9 should be used for SCL and SDA respectively. In the generated code I cannot see this definition anywhere! That is my first problem.

When I debug the code, calling the procedure "tsl2591_initialize()" leads to calling the function "I2C_IsAcknowledgeFailed()" in the file "stm32h7xx_hal_i2c.c", lines 6377ff. The first query of the flag "I2C_FLAG_AF" says that this flag is set. The execution of the following loop "while (__HAL_I2C_GET_FLAG(hi2c, I2C_FLAG_STOPF) == RESET)" is exited, but the code afterwards leads to the return with error. I can't recognize the reason for this. Probably something is missing in my code.

What am I doing wrong?

Can anybody help me to get this code running?

I've put the entire project in the attachment.

Thanks in Advance,

Michael

4 REPLIES 4
Khouloud ZEMMELI
ST Employee

Hi @Mick P. F.​ 

I'll answer you on the first question linked to CubeMX and configuration pins.

In fact, the code of GPIO Configuration is generated under stm32xxx_hal_msp.c file, you can find there all pins configured for each IP used.

Hope this information helped you, Khouloud

Mick P. F.
Senior

Hello Khouloud,

Many thanks for your tip!

Now I know where to find the initialization/configuration code, but that doesn't help me to solve the runtime problem.