Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

L6472 parameters setting

sctisz
Associate
Posted on October 29, 2014 at 15:54

Hi,

I'm new to L6472 here, and from reading its datasheet, I think it would be a perfect fit to my application which will need to drive a NEMA34 motor to go relative high speed (such as 12 rotations per sec.). 

I've been reading AN4158 which is related to L6472 and am puzzled by

some of the concepts there, could someone help explain?

thanks!

Sam

*) The concept of target switching time (it sets the target PWM frequency of the control system) is not clear to me,?what's the relationship between this parameter and the step speed (or step period)? (or is there any relationship between these two parameters?)

And why it's better to have a fixed PWM frequency? is this PWM frequency the same PWM that creates the microstepped phase currents in microstep mode?

*) it seems to make auto adjusted decay and predictive current control work, 6 parameters need to be set properly: TOFF_MIN, TON_MIN, TOFF, TOFF_FAST, FAST_STEP, TSW. It was not clear to me how these six variables shall be set properly, is there any concete example of the analytical steps someone should take to set values (or a value range) for these variables/parameters?

#l6472
5 REPLIES 5
larken
Associate II
Posted on November 06, 2014 at 03:25

The pwm switching frequency is not related to the input step pulse frequence. The PWM is controlling current in the winding. Its humming along at about 20Khz regardless if the motor is spinning or stopped.

Its sometimes better to have a fixed PWM frequency to prevent motor ringing noise as opposed to a fixed off time that make the frequeny change depending on the current.

The Step pulse moves along a pointer to a table that specifies where on the sine/cos current table and phase the PWM should work from.

Larry

Lorenzo1
Associate II
Posted on March 09, 2015 at 11:22