cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I get the USART to work on an STM32C011?

Neiliow
Associate II

I am relatively new to using the STM32 family and I am trying to use the USART on a STM32C011J4M6 device without success.

Initially I am just trying to send out a single character using the lines

uint8_t TxData[] = {'@'};
   HAL_UART_Transmit(&huart1, TxData, 1, 10);

after USART1 has been set up by CubeMX.

When it runs however, as soon as it tries to write to the Transmit Data Register, the processor resets. I have verified where it is going wrong by stepping through the disassembly - all the registers seem to be set up correctly but immediately on executing the STR instruction to write the character to 0x40013828 (USART1 TDR) it jumps to the reset handler.

I have been using STM32F042K6 and other devices up until now and the same code behaves correctly in those, exactly as expected.

I'm not sure what I am doing wrong so can anyone point to what it might be? If I remove the HAL_UART_Transmit() then the rest of the code runs (although it is just toggling a GPIO pin at the moment).

Thanks for any advice.

7 REPLIES 7
Foued_KH
ST Employee

Hello @Neiliow​ ,

uint8_t TxData[] = "@";
   HAL_UART_Transmit(&huart1, TxData, 1, 10);

Foued

To give better visibility on the answered topics, please click on Accept as Solution on the reply which solved your issue or answered your question.

Neiliow
Associate II

Thanks Foued but that's not where the problem is. The '@' character is getting to the correct place and it fails when it is trying to write that into the Transmit Register. I can trace the disassembled program right up to that point so it is getting the character to send out. The problem happens when I write to TDR, it doesn't matter what data I try to write to it - '@' or anything else.

Neil

The processor shouldn't reset.