cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ST, Please stop login strategy in your tools

Led
Senior

Hi ST

I generally appreciate your tools and how to keep on make them better, keeping also quality on track.

But let me say this: It is highly annoying that it is mandatory to login in the CubeMX and CubeIDE.

Please remove this again.

Use case: as a embedded SW developer I give my CubeMX project to the HW developer for review. For this short task he does not want to create a login. This is highly annoying and I request to remove this again.

Please understand that for development this is just an additional work where people will rather not use the tool than create a login.

If login is required for the download: ok. But let the devleoper decide whether he wants to download on its own or via the tool. No login should be needed to use the tools.

Thanks for your undestanding.

Led

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Rim LANDOLSI
ST Employee

Hello @Led and welcome to the community,

Thank you for your contributions and for this explanation. In the case you want to work without being connected, STM32CubeIDE makes this possible by following these instructions:
• Manually download the needed STM32Cube firmware packages from the STMicroelectronics website
www.st.com
• Inside STM32CubeIDE, use the following menus:
1. [Help]>[Manage embedded software packages]
2. [STM32Cube MCU Packages]>[From local...]
• Point to the manually downloaded zip file, then accept the license and install it.

Otherwise, I will report the suggestion to remove the login feature to the development team for further investigation.

Thanks,

Rim.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Rim LANDOLSI
ST Employee

Hello @Led and welcome to the community,

Thank you for your contributions and for this explanation. In the case you want to work without being connected, STM32CubeIDE makes this possible by following these instructions: