cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie here. I would like to use STM32CubeIDE to debug the Marlin 3D printer software running on a STM32F429 via an ST-Link. I don't want to compile. Pointers to the right docs to read, what project type to use, debug setup would be appreciated.

BKuhn
Associate III

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
BKuhn
Associate III

All is well.

I uninstalled and re-installed STM32CubeIDE and now I can single step my program!

Many Thanks!

Bob

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
Danish1
Lead II

You’ll need to compile the code so that the IDE can relate machine-code instructions that the stm32 actually executes with the program source code. I don’t think there’s any way around that.

And any code that controls real-time hardware, such as a 3D printer, will be difficult to debug simply because the hardware won’t take kindly to the drive from the stm32 being frozen. But debugging often involves detecting an unexpected situation and then freezing things while you gather evidence as to how the situation arose.

You describe yourself as a newbie. If at all possible, try to learn stm32 debugging first on a much simpler system ( i.e. without printer hardware). It might not sound like much, but there’s an amazing number of things you need to get right just to flash an LED. And it is necessary to learn-by-doing.

Hope this helps,

Danish

Nikita91
Lead II

One of the most useful ways to debug a real-time application whose timing must not be disturbed (like when driving a motor) is to add traces. Sometimes the display (on UART or SWO) of a single character placed in the appropriate places makes it possible to see what the application is really executing, without notably disturbing its timing.

To do this, you must modify the source of the application. So it seems to me necessary to have a complete project in the IDE for what you want to do.

I'm a newbie to STM32CubeIDE.