cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Locate Constant Data in Flash at Fixed Address

Grant Bt
Senior

Yet another question on locating data, this time fixed in flash. I want to place some main application attributes at a fixed flash location so that my bootloader can learn about the installed app. I have had partial success. (For now this is for an STM32F103, but I'm just learning so that's not for sure.)

With STM32CubeIde I have this in my main.c application code:

uint32_t const Version  __attribute__((section(".AppInfo"))) = 0x12345678UL;
uint32_t const Features __attribute__((section(".AppInfo"))) = 0xDEADC0DEUL;

And in the .ld file I have added this (between .isr_vector (0x08002000) and .text:

.AppInfo 0X08003000 : 
  {
    . = ALIGN(4);
    KEEP(*(.AppInfo))
    . = ALIGN(4);
  } >FLASH

Now, while this works (I checked the .map file), I get a giant hole in my Flash usage between the vectors and where my AppInfo goes. Then of course the .text begins after.

There is no way to have the linker mix this into the .text area? I would like to have control over where the AppInfo goes, so any suggestions? Should I just pick the next boundary after the ISR Vectors and hope that table never grows? (seems like not a brilliant idea!)

7 REPLIES 7
Grant Bt
Senior

For comparison, here is what I am doing in Keil (I build in both for now).

uint32_t const Version  __attribute__((at(0X08003000UL))) = 0x12345678UL;     // Compiler v5
uint32_t const Features __attribute__((at(0X08003004UL))) = 0xDEADC0DEUL;     // Compiler v5

And that's all I've had to do (surprisingly).

TDK
Guru

The GCC Linker, which is used by STM32CubeIDE, has no way of doing this in a similar fashion to Keil.

The vector table length won't change unless you change chips. Seems like a fine place. It won't grow by a lot, in any case, so having a bit of buffer for the vector table and placing your structure right after that seems like a fine solution.