cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using touchgfx without external RAM

ETale.1
Associate III

I designed a GUI on stm32f746 discovery board and programmed the board successfully and GUI worked perfectly, now I want to redesign the GUI and my programm to be able to use a custom board which doesn't have an external RAM

at first I disabled the MX_FMC_Init fuction but the display is black and nothing shows up, then I read the article below and followed the instruction but display went black again.

I'm a beginner and I would be very gratefull if anyone guides me how to config the CubeMX and touchgfx to work without external RAM.

https://support.touchgfx.com/docs/development/board-bring-up/how-to/03-display-internal

26 REPLIES 26

O now I get what you meant,

I made these changes you mentioned in touchGFXGeneratedHAL.cpp file, but the output is the same :(

extern uint16_t framebuffer[400*100*3];
void TouchGFXGeneratedHAL::initialize()
{
    HAL::initialize();
    registerEventListener(*(Application::getInstance()));
    registerTaskDelayFunction(&OSWrappers::taskDelay);
    setFrameRefreshStrategy(HAL::REFRESH_STRATEGY_OPTIM_SINGLE_BUFFER_TFT_CTRL);
    setFrameBufferStartAddresses((void*)framebuffer, (void*)0, (void*)0);

How you build your project? Because when in TouchGFX, then generated files is overwrited on each build. Your changes is removed.

I recommend use IDE . and you dont write where yuo place line in main?

HAL_LTDC_SetAddress(&hltdc, (uint32_t*)framebuffer, LTDC_LAYER_1);

As simple test add memset(framebuffer,55,4800); //this make some gray part on screen when buffer works.

Too i recomm use debuger and check if your code work and not halt in an hardfault...

Why 400*100*3 ?

VChan.2
Associate II

Hi @ETale.1​ 

May be it is now too late to post an answer

I was also looking to use Touchgfx without external RAM as my application has very minimal graphics. This post helped me a lot to poke at the right places