cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

toggle button to send a data frame to a car display via the FDCAN bus using STM32 microcontrollers

sana1
Associate III

I'm new to TouchGFX and I'm trying to use a toggle button to send a data frame to a car display via the FDCAN bus using STM32 microcontrollers. I'm not sure if it's possible to achieve this functionality with TouchGFX and STM32, and if it is, I'm unsure where i  configure the filter, transmit header, and add messages in the main.c function!! If anyone has experience working with this setup, I would greatly appreciate any guidance or assistance you can provide.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
GaetanGodart
ST Employee

Hello @sana1 ,

To summarize, you have a STM32 running a TouchGFX application connected to a car through a FDCAN bus. You want to send a message/notification to the car when a button is pressed on your TouchGFX application.

To do so you first need to fetch the action in TouchGFX, transfer it to your main.c (STM32 application) and then send it through your FDCAN bus.

I can help you on the first part (sending from TouchGFX application to main.c).
However, I cannot help you on using your FDCAN bus as I do not know how it works and I have no experience with it.

To send a notification or data from a TouchGFX application to the main.c you need to use the MVP design. Find an article about it here : MVP design 

Basically, what you have to do is to fetch the action (this can be done by using an interaction calling a new virtual function in your screen :

GaetanGodart_0-1713256833492.png
This way, a virtual function is called whenever you click that toggle button.
You then have to implement that function in your screen1view.hpp and screen1view.cpp and you have to propagate the notification to the model (screen1view.ccp => screen1presenter.cpp => model.cpp).
Then, from the model.cpp, you can include your main.h and be able to call any function from your main.