cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32U5A9 MIPI DSI Configuration Issue - Distorted Images / Timeout

UKhan.2
Associate II

Hello ST Community,

I'm facing a MIPI DSI configuration issue with my STM32U5A9 and TFT LCD. When using PHY DSI as the DSI lane byte clock source, my code fails with a timeout on HAL_DSI_ShortWrite. When I switch to PLL3P, the initialization proceeds, but the LCD displays distorted images.

Request for Assistance: I'm new to MIPI and suspect a misconfiguration in clock settings. Any insights on proper configurations or similar experiences with STM32U5A9 MIPI DSI would be greatly appreciated.

Details:

• MCU: STM32U5A9
  • LCD: TFT LCD with st7796S
  • Clock Source: PHY DSI (fails) / PLL3P (distorted images)

UKhan2_0-1701171434609.png

Your help in resolving this challenge is appreciated. Share your insights or suggestions if you've encountered a similar problem.

Thank you,

13 REPLIES 13
UKhan.2
Associate II

Characters have been successfully displayed on the LCD; however, they appear inverted and mirrored. Assistance in identifying the underlying issue would be greatly appreciated.

UKhan2_0-1701451367607.png
Your guidance in this matter would be highly appreciated.

First try

/**
  * @brief  Start test pattern generation
  * @PAram  hdsi  pointer to a DSI_HandleTypeDef structure that contains
  *               the configuration information for the DSI.
  * @PAram  Mode  Pattern generator mode
  *          This parameter can be one of the following values:
  *           0 : Color bars (horizontal or vertical)
  *           1 : BER pattern (vertical only)
  * @PAram  Orientation  Pattern generator orientation
  *          This parameter can be one of the following values:
  *           0 : Vertical color bars
  *           1 : Horizontal color bars
  * @retval HAL status
  */
HAL_StatusTypeDef HAL_DSI_PatternGeneratorStart(DSI_HandleTypeDef *hdsi, uint32_t Mode, uint32_t Orientation)