Hi!

I have a SPI master that communicates in the following way:

CS is set

Start sending data in the following format -

2 bytes of "request"

2 bytes of crc for the "request"

x bytes to clock out the response from the slave

CS is released

On the slave side (STM32F746ZG) I have implemented a circular DMA which operates on a buffer of size 4 bytes. (This is only initiated once)

The SPI data size is 8-bit (1 byte).

I have implemented both HAL_SPI_TxRxHalfCpltCallback and HAL_SPI_TxRxCpltCallback.

This means that one of HalfCplt and Cplt callbacks will be triggered for every 2 bytes (since the full buffer is 4 bytes).

When I start my communication the Slave first receives 2 bytes and triggers HAL_SPI_TxRxHalfCpltCallback, I check for the "request" code and fill the 2 first bytes (since those were already traversed by the DMA when Half Cplt happens) of the Tx-buffer with the response for that specific "request".

After 2 more bytes HAL_SPI_TxRxCpltCallback is triggered and I fill the 2 last bytes of the Tx-buffer with the continuation of the response for previous "request".

I continue filling in the continuation of the response in both HAL_SPI_TxRxHalfCpltCallback and HAL_SPI_TxRxCpltCallback until the CS is released.

Describing the problem:

I can see that the Tx-Buffer that DMA is working with is as expected at all times, but the output of the SPI slave is wrong. This made me start looking at the TxFIFO behaviour.

What I think is happening is that the SPI TxFIFO is being filled with the wrong data since it will start filling as soon as there is room (triggered by TXE). Looking in the reference manual it says the following "The TXE flag is set when transmission TXFIFO has enough space to store data to send. TXE flag is linked to the TXFIFO level. The flag goes high and stays high until the TXFIFO level is lower or equal to 1/2 of the FIFO depth. The bit is cleared automatically when the TXFIFO level becomes greater than 1/2"