cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Expanding SRAM on STM32H723VGH6

sirin
Associate II

Hi everyone,

I'm a beginner, and this might be a basic question for many of you, but I appreciate your help nonetheless.

I'm working on a project using the STM32H723VGH6 (due to size and design constraints, I can't use the ZG series) and I want to expand the RAM by connecting an IS62WV51216 SRAM. However, I noticed that in CubeMX, the FMC configuration only has a "Muxed PSRAM" option and no SRAM option (the ZG series has an SRAM option in CubeMX).

Even with the PSRAM option, I found that PSRAM typically has both address lines (Ax) and data lines (Dx), but CubeMX only shows pinout for data lines, not address lines.

屏幕截图 2024-05-27 015513.pngScreenshot 2024-05-28 011839.png

sirin_0-1716830413695.png

I have a couple of questions:

1. Is it possible to support SRAM or PSRAM with address lines? If so, how should I connect the GPIOs?
  2. If it's not possible, is there a suitable PSRAM model that fits this data-line-only configuration?
  3. When using the HAL library for development, are there any code differences between regular SRAM/PSRAM and this configuration?

Thanks a lot for your help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SofLit
ST Employee

Hello,

STM32H723VG is a TFBGA100 package contrarily to ZG (LQFP144 package ) some FMC signals are not available on that package like FMC_A0 to to FMC_A15 address lines. So you need to use "muxed" config in that package i.e. using FMC_AD0 to FMC_AD15: they are multiplexed Address and Data lines which are selected by FMC_ALE (Address Latch Enable).

See datasheet:

SofLit_0-1718364579040.png

But here you need either a memory supporting the mux mode or you need to add an external Latch to hold the address while handling the data.

But as I can see from IS62WV51216 datasheet, it does not support the mux mode so you need to add an external latch (managed by FMC_ALE).