cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connecting to STM32 on NUCLEO-G474RE over USB

c_shearer_cooper
Associate III

I'm just getting started with the STM32, only got the NUCLEO-G474RE board yesterday.

I need to communicate from a PC to the STM32 over USB.  Am I correct in assuming that the CN1 USB connector is only available for ST-LINK, and I need to attach a second USB connector with breakout pins onto the Morpho connector?

Is there a brief description somewhere of which USB lines go to which Morpho pins?

Thanks!

6 REPLIES 6
gbm
Lead III

Right, you need to add a board with a USB connector. See the manual for your Nucleo board and the STM32G474 datasheet for Nucleo pin connections and G474 pin functions respectively.

The latest Nucleo-64 boards (with H5 and U5 series), finally add the long-awaited USB connector.

Andrew Neil
Evangelist III

@c_shearer_cooper wrote:

I need to communicate from a PC to the STM32 over USB.

What kind of communication do you need?

The ST-Link on the board also provides a Virtual COM Port (VCP);  that allows you to communicate from a PC to the STM32's UART over USB - see Fig 3 in the User Manual:

AndrewNeil_0-1709657697630.png

See also section 6.6.5

@c_shearer_cooper wrote:

Is there a brief description somewhere of which USB lines go to which Morpho pins?

That's in the User Manual; see also the board schematics.

c_shearer_cooper
Associate III

Thanks for the pointers!  But I can't figure out how to tell the STLink to enable its VCP.  Is there a document that shows me how to configure the IOC file in STM32CubeIDE?

Chris

Imen.D
ST Employee

Hello @c_shearer_cooper and welcome to the Community 🙂

- Did you install the driver STSW-LINK009? Try installing/updating the ST-Link firmware version through this link STSW-LINK009.

- I suggest that you start your project from CubeMX where you configure your peripherals and generate the initialization code using STM32CubeIDE.