cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to use ST25R3911B for long reading distance(40cm)

Hzhao.2186
Associate II

Hello,

I am new to NFC solutions and want to design a product that can read tags for 40cm distance with ST25R3911B , could you give me some suggestions ?

And how to adjust the antenna driver output resistance (register 0x27) to match the impedance,also what is the suitable value for the capacitive voltage divider?

Thank you very much for your help.

Best regards

Sky

16 REPLIES 16

Hi Travis,

Thanks for the reply.

Do you mean maybe need add an additional amplifier between IC's RFO pins and antenna matching network?

And another question is for tag (ST25DV64K),What values do you recommend for the inductance and impedance of the coil?

I didn't see any matching elements on the circuit board for ST25DV tag.

Thanks�?

JL. Lebon
ST Employee

​Hello Sky,

Regarding ST25DV64K, the calculation of antenna inductance is explain in the AN2972 that you can find at this place: https://www.st.com/content/ccc/resource/technical/document/application_note/bc/ac/13/fe/69/fb/49/8a/CD00232630.pdf/files/CD00232630.pdf/jcr:content/translations/en.CD00232630.pdf

The ST25DV has an internal tuning capacitance of 28.5pF. If you design your antenna correctly you can have an antenna + tag resonating at 13.56MHz without external tuning components. It is still possible to add an additional external tuning capacitance in parallel to fine tune the resonance.

In order to increase the reading range on the ST25DV side, you can play on the level of energy received by the tag.

To increase the level of energy, the main factor is the antenna size, and the coupling factor with reader's antenna. In your case, considering the size and the distance of the reader's antenna, a large antenna on tag side should improve the distance (but I understand you need a small antenna ?),