cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Kidnly asking for info, regarding a project

MLavr
Associate

Hello everyone!

First let me introduce myself. I am an IT engineer from a company CREA Plus that is stationed in Ljubljana, Slovenia. I got assigned a project, that uses the STM32F100 chips.

As I have no experience myself and am only getting information from the st.com web page.

To describe the project and wishes:

So, a company that trusted us the project, wants us to securely connect their IoT devices (they use the STM32F100 chip) to an Azure Iot Hub.

There is a lot of documentation about ST and azure, but nothing specific for this chip.

The question we have:

1. Can we connect STM32F100 securely to the Azure Iot Hub with a x.509 certificate
  2. How does and where would be suggested, for the chips to get the firmware with the certificates?
  3. As I can understand, the chips can be configured to automaticaly connect to the Azure Iot Hub?
  4. STM32F100 does not have a WIFI module, and with that, we are wondering, how can it get access to the internet? Via USB?
  5. As I discovered, STM32F100 does have support for a STSAFE hardware. Can we directly connect the STM32F100 chip to a STSAFE-A100 chip, and use that as the hardware secure place for the certificate store?
  6. Does SMT32F100 support OTA (over the air) update?
  7. Can you suggest a different STM32 model chip, that can do everything described above?

So manny questions I know, but I gotta start somewhere.

With kind regards

Miha Lavri�?

3 REPLIES 3
  1. You'll need a TLS implementation library, like mbedTLS, to do that. Those type of libraries may be too big for some microcontroller flash/SRAM sizes. Exactly which model are you using? For example, STM32F100C4 has only 16KB of flash, which is too small, while STM32F100RC has 256KB of Flash, which is plenty.