cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Download verification failure when using .elf generated from STMCubeIDE

nollstead
Associate III

Hello, everytime I try to download a file (in STM32CubeProgrammer) that was generated using STM32CubeIDE I get a data mismatch error at address 0x08000004.  

Interestingly, if I write a simple blink sketch using the arduino IDE and upload that it works fine (And arduino is set to use STM32CubeProgrammer to upload - when in boot mode of course).  So I can take either the .elf or .bin that the Arduino IDE generates and upload just fine with STM32CubeProgrammer but NOT a .elf file that I create using STM32CubeIDE.

I'm completely new to STM32 so any ideas on where I should look would be appreciated.  

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Pavel A.
Evangelist III

Aha! the plot thickens! Tomorrow will be the great day!

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
TDK
Guru

If you do a full erase before programming, does it work? What chip? Attach your ELF if you can.

If you feel a post has answered your question, please click "Accept as Solution".
Pierre_Paris
ST Employee

Hello @nollstead and @TDK,

Welcome to the STM32 Community ! 😉

Same questions as @TDK.

And I add this : Can you share your OB configuration ?

I suggest you to have a look on the UM2237 (chapter 2.2) and AN5054 if you want to secure programming.

Best Regards,

Pierre

To give better visibility on the answered topics, please click on Accept as Solution on the reply which solved your issue or answered your question.

I didn't do a full erase in either case as I wasn't sure if that would mess anything up.  The Arduino upload output shows that it erases sectors 0 and 1 so i tried that with no luck.

Attached are the ELF files - I can't upload zip files so I used WinRAR.  Blink.ino.rar is the version from the Arduino IDE and the other is from STM32CubeIDE.  Both are just simple blink sketches.