cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Whack a mole with MxCube interrupt configuration

MFolk.1
Senior

I am programming on the STM32L4R9I-EVAL dev board, but my project is configured

for the STM32L4S9AII6. I am clocked at 120MHz.

I have been fighting the following bug off and on for about 3 months. I queried for help on this a couple months ago and thought I had resolved the issue.

https://community.st.com/s/question/0D53W00001PxcHZSAZ/can-you-have-too-many-peripheral-init-functions

I think I fix the issue and then it randomly pops back to ruin my day about every 2-4 days. The problem first manifest itself in my project as I was trying to get a one-shot timer configured. Since then I have observed enough to be 97% convinced that this is an interrupt configuration issue with MxCube, but as I debug the code and analyze the auto-generated code by MxCube everything seems correct.

The cycle goes like this. I have to make some change to MxCube for various reasons like deleting a mutex or queue from FreeRTOS or adjusting settings with DMA or ADC interrupts. The ADC and DMA interrupts that I crawled through was the worst of all and I have since abandoned any hope of being able to use DMA and/or ADC interrupts at all. I have also noticed a very strong correlation with the previously mentioned one shot timer. This peripheral cannot be scrapped from my project.

Anyways, every time the bug comes back the behavior is the same. I run my code in the IDE via debug mode. The program enters HAL_Init() and right after the timebase timer (TIM3, but I've tried several others) IRQ is enabled I notice 3 interrupts become pending that were never configured (DMA1_ch3, DMA1_ch5, & OTG_FS). Its like the MCU just totally looses it. I made the following flow chart to illustrate what I see as I debug it.

0693W00000Np0phQAB.png