cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to configure ETH_TX_ER Pin in CubeMX

EStei.3
Associate III

Hi,

I'm trying to configure the Ethernet peripheral on an STM32H730, using CubeMX, in order to use it with KSZ8863 PHY. (https://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/DeviceDoc/00002335B.pdf)

Unfortunately I can't find a way to configure ETH_TX_ER other than just clicking on the pin in pinout view and selecting ETH_TX_ER.

If I do so the pin is marked in yellow, which for my understanding suggests it is not configured properly.

Additionally it is not shown in the GPIO settings of ETH tab. So I assume there is an issue with it.

As I'm new to ethernet on MCU's, I might miss some generic information but I had a look at the reference manual as well and couldn't find any helpful description of ETH_TX_ER and its functionality.

Any help or information is appreciated!

5 REPLIES 5
Piranha
Chief II

If you really mean TX_ER, it doesn't exist for RMII interface and is optional for MII interface. STM32 devices doesn't have it at all and it's basically useless anyway:

Transmit error may be raised for one or more clock periods during frame transmission to request the PHY to deliberately corrupt the frame in some visible way that precludes it from being received as valid. This may be used to abort a frame when some problem is detected after transmission has already started. The MAC may omit the signal if it has no use for this functionality, in which case the signal should be tied low for the PHY.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Media-independent_interface#Transmitter_signals

If you actually mean RX_ER, it is mandatory for MII interface and optional for RMII interface. STM32 devices use it only in MII mode.

EStei.3
Associate III

Thanks for the helpfull response!

I was already wondering what this signal should be used for, because it didn't make sens to me.

But you saying it is basically useless, confirms my doubts.