cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CubeMX integration with BSP drivers

Posted on January 19, 2017 at 19:52

I have been using the CubexMX for a few years and have no problems with programming nucleo and discovery boards.

I am using Keil IDE.

I recently bough the

http://www.st.com/en/ecosystems/x-nucleo-iks01a1.html

and have some problems with integration it with nucleo-F411.

===

Starting with the library description and trying to understand all the dependencies seems to be daunting task.

I tried it but I found it difficult to solve library dependencies issues. I am not talking about what function to call - it's rather inter library dependencies issues.

===

Opening already existing example project for F401 and replacing the MCU with F411  gives so many compilation errors so I rejected the idea for now.

===

I wonder if someone have some experience how to quickly integrate the CubeMX-generated program skeleton with BSP drivers. The goal is to have compilation/linking error free application skeleton.

The Getting started document for x-nucleo boards is focused on general ideas of the HAL and BSP layers.

I am looking for more practical approach of integrating BSP with Cubex.

Thanks for any suggestion,

Bogdan

#bsp #cube-mx
14 REPLIES 14
Posted on February 01, 2017 at 19:12

Hi Sirma,

Thank you for your effort.

What you have prepared always works as you do not call any MEMs API in your project. It's pure app skeleton - no api is called. No issues then.

===

The fun begins when you try to call any API e.g. BSP_TEMPERATURE_Init( HTS221_T_0, &HTS221_T_0_handle )

When you add required include files (#include 'x_nucleo_iks01a1.h', #include 'x_nucleo_iks01a1_temperature.h', etc).

At some point you get:

*** Using Compiler 'V5.06 update 4 (build 422)', folder: 'C:\Keil_v5\ARM\ARMCC\Bin'

Build target 'F401-MEMs'

compiling x_nucleo_iks01a1.c...