cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Multiple "expected expression before 'do'" errors

SHoll.1
Associate II

I'm new to STM32 and trying to bring up the STM32L053-DISCO project in STM32CubeIDE. It mostly comiles fine, but has an issue with the HAL defines, such as below:

#define __HAL_RCC_GPIOA_CLK_ENABLE()  do { \

__IO uint32_t tmpreg; \

SET_BIT(RCC->IOPENR, RCC_IOPENR_GPIOAEN);\

/* Delay after an RCC peripheral clock enabling */ \

tmpreg = READ_BIT(RCC->IOPENR, RCC_IOPENR_GPIOAEN);\

UNUSED(tmpreg); \

} while(0)

I really don't see why it is being flagged as an error. I'm sure this must have been seen by someone else...

Best regards,

Stephen

12 REPLIES 12
MBake.3
Associate

I found the same problem. I'm pretty sure the conditional operator doesn't let you declare variables. You also can't put a parenthesis around a do while loop. This change to the HAL code was broke these macros. Looks like the comment says this change was to "Delay after an RCC peripheral clock enabling." I can think of a few better ways to delay than this.

#define __HAL_RCC_GPIOA_CLK_ENABLE()   do { \
                                        __IO uint32_t tmpreg; \
                                        SET_BIT(RCC->IOPENR, RCC_IOPENR_GPIOAEN);\
                                        /* Delay after an RCC peripheral clock enabling */ \
                                        tmpreg = READ_BIT(RCC->IOPENR, RCC_IOPENR_GPIOAEN);\
                                        UNUSED(tmpreg); \
                                      } while(0)

So you can either change it. Back to the way it was (you'll need to fix the name and this will probably break other things so don't do it

#define __GPIOA_CLK_ENABLE()         (RCC->IOPENR |= (RCC_IOPENR_GPIOAEN))

The right way is the macros:

//#define LEDx_GPIO_CLK_ENABLE(__INDEX__)         (((__INDEX__) == 0) ? LED3_GPIO_CLK_ENABLE() : LED4_GPIO_CLK_ENABLE())
#define LEDx_GPIO_CLK_ENABLE(__INDEX__)\
if (__INDEX__ == 0)\
{\