cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I'm extremely new to all of this. My goal is to connect 2 to 4 accelerators to a STM32F3DISCOVERY and record an event based on the rising edge of a signal. Any direction on this is much appreciated.

MHawk.1
Associate II

I picked the STM32F3 Discovery board because it has 4 ADCs that can supposedly record data at 5MSPS. I am new so a little direction on example code and which pins to use would be great. Im currently trying to be more familiar with the STM32CubeIDE, unless a different IDE is better? Thank you in advance for any help with my project.

7 REPLIES 7
raptorhal2
Lead

To get you started:

Did you mean accelerometers ?

The F3 data sheet has a table of pin assignments that identify which pins are available for each ADC channel. The STM32F3Discovery User Manual also has a table of pin assignments that will identify which pins are assigned to board functions and which are free for your use.

You didn't say what your sampling rate requirements are. Each ADC has a number of channels which can be sequentially sampled and the results transferred via DMA to a memory buffer. One ADC may suffice for you. ST's ADC programming examples can be a good start on how to do it.

I don't use Cube, but for a beginner it is the easiest way to start.

Cheers, Hal

TDK
Guru

CubeIDE is an excellent IDE in its current state.

5 MSPS is a lot. I would recommend developing it at a much much lower rate and, when everything is working, scale up the speed.

First try to use one ADC channel, get that working. Then try to incorporate the external trigger. Then add channels, etc. Small steps.

If you feel a post has answered your question, please click "Accept as Solution".