cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Count external pulses

peterka
Associate II

I want to count external pulses for one second.

On STM32F030 / HAL-Lib I did not find

• atomic read/reset counter
  • capture by a second timer did not work, thoug I studied well and tested a lot how to config it by STM32CubeIDE

Is there any example for a highly accurate count of external pulses by a tim (timers/capture/compare/pwm)?

Thanx, Peter

15 REPLIES 15

> On STM32F030 / HAL-Lib I did not find

If you *want* to do something, then don't look at some random library, read the real manual.

> atomic read/reset counter

Are you talking about the Timers?

There is no such operation (there is something resembling that, but I don't recommend to use it). But you don't need that: simply subtract values of consecutive readout (taking into account the registers' width, a.k.a. modulo arithmetics) in software.

> Is there any example for a highly accurate count of external pulses by a tim (timers/capture/compare/pwm)?

What do you mean by "highly accurate"?

Do you want run one timer as counter of external pulses, and sample its count by an other timer serving as a regular timebase?

If yes, at this point, I assume you know how to enable clocks in RCC and how to set pins in GPIO.