cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Code generation deletes HAL Drivers

DN19
Associate

Hi everyone,

I recently started programming STM Microcontrollers. I'm using STM32CubeIDE 1.13.2 to setup my project.

I want to build a modular software, where some necessary peripherals are initialized from beginning and others are initialized dependend on my build variables.

I was using STM32CubeIDE to setup the project and initialize the peripherals in the .ioc file. That worked well!

The reason I want to build a modular SW is because I also have a modular HW. Sometimes I want to use the same pins for different purposes dependent on my build variables. That is why I want to reset every pin I do not necessarily need from the begining. My problem is occuring when generating the code. The code generation does not only add or delete some code as I configure. It does also delete the HAL drivers if a module is not used. For example if I deactivate ADC it deletes the HAL drivers for adc even if I define them as enabled in the user code space of "stm32l4xx_hal_conf.h". How can I prevent the code generation process from deleting those drivers? I do not want to copy the folder manually or via script every time from my repository.

Is there any solution to keep the driver files?

Thank you very much!

Best regards!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Yeah, the whole CubeMX/IOC file thing really doesn't support that.

I think you're just going to have to do it manually.

You can always use CubeMX to get you started, but then manage changes manually in the generated code - rather than trying to re-generate.

View solution in original post

18 REPLIES 18
TDK
Guru

No, that's just how STM32CubeMX is set up to work when generating code for STM32CubeIDE. It only copies what is necessary and deletes the rest. For other toolchains, you can have it copy all files.

Solved: "Copy all used libraries into the project folder" ... - STMicroelectronics Community