cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to reduce the memory flashing time when debug

Ggual.2
Associate II

Hi to all community.

I am new with the touchgfx and the graphic ST microcontrollers.

I have develop an application on STM32H7 MCU with touchgfx. The mcu use an external 16Mb flash memory to store the application, touchgfx, images etc...

The graphic interface are ended but when I launch the debugger for test some changes in the application, some minutes are necessary because the CubeIDE reflash entire memory, application and graphics, and this is a bit frustrating.

So I ask you if exist a system to flash the touchgfx and graphical elements one time when these are finished, and afterwards flash only application program for speed up the debugging.

I use ST link and I have try to speed up the frequency to 24MHz but it doesn't get much better.

Thanks

12 REPLIES 12
MM..1
Chief II

Ofcourse , for this you can create more debug/run configurations and on desired setup checkbox external loader off.

Ggual.2
Associate II

Hi MM,

The 16Mb external flash are used in memory mapped mode, so the MCU run on it: main program and graphics. In the internal flash only the bootloader is executed at startup. So when I make a little change on the main code the IDE re-flash all the entire 16 Mb memory before the debug run and much time elapse. Can I speed up this?

In normal situation is in external only graphics. When you place code here then sorry your question is ...

But whe you partition external then maybe you can reflash only one part and not full 16M, for this you need know external loader technology

Ggual.2
Associate II

Hi MM,