cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FUTURE REQUEST For Touch GFX, please ARRAY! ARRAY! ARRAY!

JHERI
Senior

Hello

I'm still very new to Touch GFX

Still finding my way with programming in C++ as I'm more C based,

The biggest drawback I’m finding is the TouchGFX design environment when laying out screens does not allow you to add objects (Widgets) as arrays (multiples of the same).

Why on earth would this not have been implemented ??

This approach allows for much more efficient and logical coding for controlling each widget in for loops etc.
Is there any plan in the future to add this much needed option in the ToughGFX designer when laying out more complex screens of multiple objects / widgets

Thank in advance for any info

15 REPLIES 15

You missunderstand. TouchGFX is designer generator. You can generate empty screen and write all code in screensetup method plus headers. Use any arrays as you require. Yes you need basic C++ knowledge.

JHERI_0-1694618182848.png

ok

so it would seem from the above image I have started to learn about custom containers for the first time?

I understand a custom container can store multiple widgets

1) give the custom container a name

2) add your desired widgets to the custom container

in my case 8 leds, title each led to mean something, redLEDon_Left etc

I have added 8 led images to one custom container

4 LED images on the left and 4 LED images on the right

JHERI_1-1694618493611.png

3) now you can drag and use your custom container multiple times on one screen or many screens I believe

4) now compile and generate code

5) now the tricky bit ......

working out how to access/reference and make multiple custom container arrays and the same for the child objects in the containers

but happy to have learnt about custom containers

Panchev68
Senior