cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32L412 interrupt latency and jitter

b.a.
Associate III

I am running STM32L412 on 48MHz MSI, Timer 2 is configured in One-Pulse mode to output a 2ms Pulse. This is done by setting Timer 2 in PWM mode and with a prescaler of 47, ARR = 1999 and CCR = 1, Polarity=LOW

An interrupt is generated on update Event, i.e. when the pulse goes low.

In the ISR I set a GPIO to high, then clear the interrupt flag

void TIM2_IRQHandler(void)
{
	if(LL_TIM_IsActiveFlag_UPDATE(TIM2))
	{
		LL_GPIO_SetOutputPin(BTS_5V_GPIO_Port, BTS_5V_Pin);
		LL_TIM_ClearFlag_UPDATE(TIM2);
	}
}

Configuration is done with CubeIDE

Now, when observing the signals on a scope, I see that there is very unsteady interrupt latency that jitters from fairly good (750ns) to quite poor(2,6µs) and all this in quite neat 166ns intervals

0693W000005AHCxQAO.png 

I am quite new to the STM32, but this very coars jitter seem just not right to me and the total timespan would be something like over 100 clock cycles.

I have the feeling that I am missing something out on the configuration...

Up to now there is no application code running, just timers and some interrupts

Any help welcome to solve this mistery...

Cheers,

Bob

9 REPLIES 9
b.a.
Associate III

Oh my...

just realized I was still in debug mode !

silly me :\

The latency is much less, but still quite a lot of jitter:

(I left the scope on the same settings to better illustrate change)

0693W000005AHH4QAO.pngeach jitter intervall is around 62ns (which would mean about 3 clock cycles on 48MHz?)

Any idea what can cause this very irregular interrupt latency?

Other interrupt of same or higher priority (maybe systick if you use CubeMX autovomited code), combined with jumpcache and bus synchronization artefacts?

In 32-bitters, interrupts are a poor way of realtime control, use hardware whenever possible.

JW

b.a.
Associate III

no systick, as far as I know, when using LL-libraries.