cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32 General-purpose timer cookbook - Example of chapter 6.2 not working as intended

TTepp
Associate

Hi everybody,

I'm trying to test the examples of the General-purpose timer cookbook (AN4776) with a STM32 Nucleo-F446RE board and a breadboard with LEDs and resistors.

This is my first time to use timers for PWM.

I copied and adapted the code of chapter 3.2 and it is working as described:

The timer TIM1 is counting up until reaching the value of CCR1 and changes the GPIO output level from LOW to HIGH until it reaches the value of ARR. The counter starts again.

The most interesting code lines are:

• TIM1->CCMR1 |= TIM_OCMODE_PWM2; // see reference manual on page 505: In upcounting, channel 1 is inactive as long as TIMx_CNT<TIMx_CCR1 else active. In downcounting, channel 1 is active as long as TIMx_CNT>TIMx_CCR1 else inactive.
  • TIM1->CCER |= TIM_OCPOLARITY_HIGH; // see reference manual on page 510 CC1E

Then I tried the code of chapter 6.2. The intended behavior is that TIM2 triggers TIM1 and the output is HIGH until CCR1 is reached. Then the output change back to LOW until ARR is reached. This is repeated (value of repition counter) and after the last repeat the output remain LOW.

But when I tried the code with my board it does not work as intended. When testing it with my board TIM1 is counting up until CCR1 and change the polarity from LOW to HIGH (so the opposite of what is intended) until ARR is reached. Then the polarity changes back from HIGH to LOW and when reaching CCR1 the polarity change from LOW to HIGH and so on. If the last pulse is send (repitition counter) the output polarity is LOW until TIM2 triggers TIM1 again and start the counting.