cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SPI DMA master - slave communication issues, F722 and F765 SPI_FLAG_BSY and HAL_DMA_ERROR_FE errors (HAL)

Crystal
Associate II

Hi there!

I have a project with one Master (F765) and three Slaves (F722), connected by different SPI channels for data exchange via DMA. Also slaves use additional Busy and DataReady signals for flow control and synchronization.

IRQ handlers works only with state flags. TransmitReceive_DMA operations called only from the main thread. FreeRTOS has not been used for testing purposes. Data and instruction caches were disabled. But I've bumped into several issues.

F722 SPI transactions (at any speed and any mode of operation - blocking, IT, DMA) in Slave mode occasionally led to error HAL_SPI_ERROR_FLAG after waiting for SPI_FLAG_BSY timeout. Data flow had lost packets and too many breaks as shown below:

0693W00000D1eweQAB.jpg 

I've tried to swap the roles of the controllers - 3 Masters (F722) and "triple" Slave with 3 SPIs in Slave mode (F765). Everything became excellent for each single SPI channel, but all links crashed at any simultaneous activity even on two channels. Thus it was not good idea.

Additional empty project was created and very simple testing code was applied for single SPI port to avoid any other reason of error.

Master main loop:

while (1) {
	if  (HAL_GPIO_ReadPin(BusyPin.Port, BusyPin.Pin) == GPIO_PIN_RESET)  {
		startTick = HAL_GetTick();
		HAL_SPI_Transmit(MasterSPI, payload, sizeof payload, 1);
		TxCount++;
		// Wait until slave becomes busy after receive the packet - avoid occasional overrun
		while (HAL_GPIO_ReadPin(BusyPin.Port, BusyPin.Pin) != GPIO_PIN_SET && HAL_GetTick() - startTick < SPI_TIMEOUT) { ; } 
	}
}

Slave main loop:

while (1) {
	HAL_GPIO_WritePin(MCD_BUSY_GPIO_Port, MCD_BUSY_Pin, GPIO_PIN_RESET); // We are ready now
	spiRes = HAL_SPI_Receive(&hspi1, payload, sizeof payload, 1);