cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Program won't run after upload

Qwyntex
Associate III

I have designed my own PCB and I have the problem that while the code uploads successfully, it doesn't run.Qwyntex_0-1716384046463.png

I have checked NRST and BOOT0 and both should not be the problem. I have found a similar issue where the chip didn't get a clock signal and therefor was stuck. I have used the debugger to step through the code and it went past HAL_Init but I never come past SystemClock_Config, when trying to step into it the debugger throws 'Cannot find bounds of current function'. I am new to designing PCBs and I don't really know where to go from here or what the issue could be.

It is not the debugger itself as I can run the blinking sketch with no problems on a dev board that I have bought, which is why I have attached the schematic. I can also provide the PCB layout but I think it is much more likely that I made a basic mistake than that the layout is the culprit.

Thank you

22 REPLIES 22

>>IDE keeps crashing

What IDE, you keep mentioning "Sketches" which makes me think Arduino. Do you have some loader between you and the code you're running?

Is it compiling / linking for 0x08000000 operation?

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..

The IDE is the STM32CubeIDE. I guess I just internalized using the word sketches from Arudino and didn't want to write 'code' all the time. I'll just write 'script' or 'code' from now on.

As for the current drawing problem, I didn't know that. I've put the LED there because the dev board I have did, too. I'll change that in the next version but for now, is it actually the problem? Even when the LED should be off and isn't drawing any current the HAL_Delay gets stuck in its loop.

> Is it compiling / linking for 0x08000000 operation?

yes

Qwyntex
Associate III