cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hi. I have been using STM32F1xx for many years. I have a new design that uses two uarts and the ADC peripheral - all using DMA. My question is: is it possible to overload the bus arbiter when there are too many dma transactions going on at the same time?

stuart239955
Associate II

When both UARTS are transmitting & receiving, my ADC conversions (via DMA) sometimes do not complete. If I double clock speed (which I do not want to do in the product), the problem goes away. I cannot see any issues in my code that would cause this. Could it be that the DMA / arbiter has run out of steam?

4 REPLIES 4
TDK
Guru

You can absolutely overload the bus. Most memory actions are sharing the same bus. However, USART isn't a big consumer of data at typical speeds. How much bandwidth are you expecting out of the DMA for the ADC and USART?

If you feel a post has answered your question, please click "Accept as Solution".

Hi. Thanks for your reply.

I'm using a STM32F103VE micro at

HCLK / AHB = 36MHz

APB1 = 18MHz

APB2 = 36MHz

I've got 2 UARTS using DMA

one at 187.5kBaud running as fast as possible to a PC (about 17k bytes / second)

other at 115.2 kBaud also running as fast as possible to a sensor (about 10k bytes / second)

ADC is continually converting 4 channels via DMA - clock @ 4.5MHz x 239.5 samples (about 18k conversions / second)

It does look like quite a large bandwidth! As I understand it, the same bus is also used by the CPU, so there's that to add to the mix too.

Do you know of the maximum available?

What happens when the bus is overloaded? I would have thought I got an exception, but nothing. Is that a clue to what's happenning?

As previously mentioned, if I double all the clock speeds, the problem goes away.

I hope that gives you enough information.

Regards,

S

TDK
Guru

The calculation is not straightforward or documented very well, but is probably in the MB/s for your clock settings.