cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hard fault invalid state

ShawnP
Associate II

I'm trying to inject a simple wrapper around my timer interrput handler written in C - primarily for debug purposes to simplify debugging the state of registers and stack before the C code gets in and messes up the stack and state pushing all the junk it pushes to selectively save registers it's going to mess with etc. I just injected a little assembly (below) to forward the exception to my "real" handler giving me a break point prior to the 'C' code (vector table set to point to this wrapper).

I can run this in the debugger and I can break on the ldr instruction but if I proceed from there (either continue or single step) I end up in the hard fault hander with HFSR: 0x40000000 and CFSR: 0x20000 which seems to indicate and "invalid state" fault.

I'm fairly new to ARM so I'm sure it's something simple but it's got me beat.

NOTE: If I just set the vector table to point directly to my 'C' function everything works just fine - I end up in the 'C' function and everything operates as expected.

Any help would be appreciated.

Shawn

.section	.text.TIM6_IRQHandler_Wrapper
TIM6_IRQHandler_Wrapper:
	ldr r0, =TIM6_IRQHandler
	add r0, #1
	bx r0
	.size	TIM6_IRQHandler_Wrapper, .-TIM6_IRQHandler_Wrapper

8 REPLIES 8

Doesn't TIM6_IRQHandler already load as an ODD number?

OR on 1, rather than ADD on 1

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
ShawnP
Associate II

Yeah, you're probably right. But the original version of the code just had "bl TIM6_IRQHandler" - same result. So I figured I'd give adding 1 a shot. Then discovered I'm getting a hard fault even before getting to the branch - not even getting to the add instruction. BTW - based on your note I did two things 1) took out the add (same results) 2) changed add to ORR r0, #1 (same results)

What is the value of TIM6_IRQHandler ??