cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HAL_TIM_PWM_PulseFinishedCallback never called but HAL_TIM_PeriodElapsedCallback is...

RPG
Senior

I am very new to embedded programming and I have to modify some code from other developers.

I have to disable the outputs for a PWM and add a callback to get the state of the pulse instead of sending the pulse to the outputs.

I was able to disable the output on PIN 6 but the callback HAL_TIM_PWM_PulseFinishedCallback is never called. HAL_TIM_PeriodElapsedCallback instead is called all times.

I have found the reason why HAL_TIM_PWM_PulseFinishedCallback is never called is because this condition from stm32g4xx_hal_tim.c is always returning RESET:

if (__HAL_TIM_GET_IT_SOURCE(htim, TIM_IT_CC1) != RESET)

Could somebody help me out?

Thanks in advance.

8 REPLIES 8

> add a callback to get the state of the pulse

What do you mean exactly by "callback to get the state of the pulse"? Draw a diagram.

> the callback HAL_TIM_PWM_PulseFinishedCallback is never called.

You cannot expect a random function/callback to be called just based on its name. As you've found out, that callback is called upon CC interrupt, which therefore must be enabled, and by further reading Cube code, it is called only when the given channel is set as Output Compare.

Read the TIM chapter in RM. You may want to get rid of Cube/HAL and write your own code.

JW

RPG
Senior

I need to generate pulses with a given duty cycle and need to detect when the pulse is rising and falling before and after the duty cycle.