cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Generating a sine wave using STM32G4

JMend.4
Associate

I'm a beginner with STM32 and I'm trying to generate a sine waveform using a STM32G4 through the NUCLEO-G431KB board to be exact. I've been looking through tutorials on how to generate a waveform using a STM32G4 board, particularly this tutorial but nothing has worked — most of the guides I've taken a look at are not for STM32G4 boards which is why I reckon they can't be applicable to the board I'm using. I've also taken a look at this reference manual but I don't know where to start.

Does anyone know of any resources that would be helpful for me in generating a waveform using a STM32G4 in particular? Or maybe, how different would programming a STM32G4 be in comparison to the STM32H7 tutorial that I've linked?

12 REPLIES 12

STM32G4 is relatively new and not used by as many.

No particular reason why method on other STM32 would be materially different in implementation to G4

Several TIM examples here

STM32Cube_FW_G4_V1.4.0\Projects\NUCLEO-G431RB\Examples\TIM

If not TIM PWM, how about DAC ?

STM32Cube_FW_G4_V1.4.0\Projects\NUCLEO-G431RB\Examples\DAC\DAC_SignalsGeneration2

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
gregstm
Senior III

In the past I would create a quarter/half of a sine wave cycle on a spreadsheet and use that as downloaded data to generate a sine wave via the DAC. But your chip has one of those Trig accelerator things (CORDIC accelerator). I would use that to generate a full cycle sine wave kept in RAM for pumping out to the DAC.

Greg

I'm actually working on a similar G431 and/or G474 project as part of learing to use these for power electronics control.