cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ethernet design requirement with STM32H755

MK.111
Associate II

Dear Experts,

We have a design with STM32H755 having 3 Ethernet ports. Out of which 1 is over RMII controller the other two are over SPI interface.

My queries are as follows,

1. We want to run all 3 three Ethernets at the same time, How to handle this software?

2. Can LwIP handle the 3 Ethernets stack at the same time?

3. Any suggestions to breakout and utilize both cores (M7, M4) at the same time?

4. Any suggestions for the Ethernet to SPI controllers which can be interfaced with this chip?

I'm hoping to get better inputs from the experts as I'm new to this platform.

Thanks

9 REPLIES 9

The platform is likely to get swamped.

This type of implementation typically uses an Embedded Linux Platform.

A secondary alternative would be to use a programmable switch, managed by the STM32

As the complexity rises you probably want to consider commercial TCP/IP stacks. Something with some rigor would be needed for military, aerospace or health applications. Green Hills Software offer a particularly robust implementation.

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
Pavel A.
Evangelist III
  1. Like having any other peripherals work at the same time. This is exactly your job to design.
  2. Yes. LwIP supports multiple interfaces.
  3. Perhaps one core will be able to manage all interfaces (with proper design), LwIP running on this core as well.
  4. With a multiport switch such as Microchip KZ series, you can operate all three ports over the built-in ethernet controller alone. These switches can send a packet out of specific port and redirect incoming packets from all ports to the controller.

--pa

Hi Tesla DeLorean,

Glad to see your quick inputs.

​​

1. Does this chipset supports Embedded Linux or FreeRTOS? Any reference or helpful links please?