cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The LED of the STLINK-V3 on NUCLEO-H755ZI-Q Board Keeps Red

UOSTime
Associate

Hello, I am a high school student and also a fan of STM32. I encountered the problem in the title, and the following texts are how things happened.

00127c913484e0592ecda54983e9bd19.jpeg

I bought this NUCLEO-144  board, and suddenly found the clock speed generated by the STLINK is too slow. So, I put a 24MHz crystal oscillator on the board, correctly soldered the crystal with its compatible load capacitors, and all the SBs are correctly mounted or removed according to the datasheet of this board.

After that, I used CubeMX to generate proper code lines that initialize the crystal, RCC and GPIO. The code just worked fine as intended, and I get a perfect 24MHz sinusoidal wave from the oscilloscope after putting the probe on the HSE pins of the chip.

But after I disconnected the power supply and reconnected it the second day, I found that the board is dead. The code I uploaded yesterday malfunctioned; LD4 on the board, which shows how the STLINK is working, is always red; I could detect the STLINK device from Windows Device Manager, STM32CubeIDE, and Keil μVision 5, but once I try to load any code to the board, the IDE will pop up a window noticing “Failed to start GDB Server” and the console said “No device found on target.”

57518c2f3ce6a2104d2523caf6a2ad6c.png

a84f2334be661183a73d8e3e18f41498.png8e4df8f57c4eb77aeae7f6b6163040e0.pnge2f0efe5b1f9f1f93105cd5704b60527.png8e41570239ea772ce261d266891385af.png