cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

F401C barebone, minimum circuit.

Manny12
Associate III

Hi

I'm new to STM32, I'm jumping from Arduino, and I'm out of my depth, perhaps I can humbly ask for some help.

I've done basic projects with the Nucleo board, and I wanted to give a try with a simple code on a barebone chip

I have this STM32F401CBU6 on UFQFPN-48, mounted on a Proto-Advantage SMT to Breadboard adapter, naked, just the MCU, no decoupling capacitors, pull-down resistors, etc., just naked.

I intend to put it on my breadboard, power it with a 3.3V Power Supply, and program it to blink a LED.

The code will be written with the CubeIDE and loaded via a Nucleo 64 reference board UM1724, which has an integrated STLink that according to the documentation, can be decoupled for the onboard STM32 target (by removing some header pins) and then used to program an external STM32 via SWD

Chapter 3.13 of the IC F401xB datasheet (that is the external MCU I'm using) talks about the power scheme, and I was wondering:

To just power on the MCU and receive SDW program, do I need to provide power to all VDDs or just VBAT?

What would be the bare minimum circuit that would let me read/write registers, load firmware, etc?

I know, out of my depth, but perhaps I can find my way in this maze.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

> Put a 4-pin connector for programming/debug: Vdd, SWDIO, SWCLK and GND.

I would add NRST, too.

I would also think about the role of VDD - it may be a power connection, or it may be just so that the STLink can measure the target's VDD (which influences programming algorithm at low voltages, or with the galvanic-decoupled STLink it provides the required output level), or it may be unwanted (if both STLink and the target connects this pin to their respective power rails while both being powered from a different source).