cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Error in initializing ST-LINK device. Reason: (9) Target not halted.

GRuben
Associate II

Hello everyone, I'm new to this topic, and I'm needing help with an error that got me stuck.

I have a development board with a STM32F401CCU6 MCU. Until now, I had been doing exercises without problems in stm32cubeide. The problem was when I wanted to do an exercise with USART and show the result with the Realterm software, the program compiled correctly and allowed me to debug it without errors with ST-LINK, on ​​the other hand realterm did not show me anything, so I tried to reset the MCU pressing the button, also still had no results, I made sure that the configuration in realterm is ok. Then I tried debugging it again and there it gave me the following error:

STMicroelectronics ST-LINK GDB server. Version 6.0.0

Copyright (c) 2021, STMicroelectronics. All rights reserved.

Starting server with the following options:

Persistent Mode      : Disabled

Logging Level       : 1

Listen Port Number     : 61234

Status Refresh Delay    : 15s

Verbose Mode        : Disabled

SWD Debug         : Enabled

InitWhile         : Enabled

Target not halted after reset.

Target not halted

Error in initializing ST-LINK device.

Reason: Target not halted.

0693W00000NqjW8QAJ.jpg-I tried compiling it and debugging it with some other exercise that I did before just in case and it gives me the same error

-I also tried to erase the flash memory with STM32CubeProgrammer API v2.10.0 and when connecting I get the following error:

Error: ST-LINK error (DEV_CONNECT_ERR)

0693W00000NqjZ7QAJ.jpg-Another thing I tried is using the ST-Link with a stm32f103c8t6 MCU and it works fine, so the problem comes specifically from the development bord. Any help will help me thank you

7 REPLIES 7

Hardware Reset selected, is the NRST pin of the target connected to the debug pod.